PHRF Help please

Please post any questions or comments regarding the class association rules, here.

Moderators: sderby, Tim Bosma, Tom Elsen

Allan Fisher

PHRF Help please

Post by Allan Fisher »

Hi,
I am a PHRF officer for our club in Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada. Our 3 S2 7.9's currently rate at 168.
The issue of the retractable keel has come up in our fleet and I would like some information from your members, in the interest of fair racing.
1. With the keel up on a downwind leg, is the S2 still self righting?
2. In the US Sail PHRF Ratings book, it is noted that "many fleets require that it be raced with drop keels be locked down". When you race PHRF, is this a requirement in your club?
3. What would be the difference in the rating of an S2 that sailed with its keel up vs one with its keel down? (Since the PHRF Manual does not say which clubs require keels to be locked down, I am unable to determine if there is a differance in ratings between them.)

I am certain that this conversation has been held many times with S2 7.9 owners and I would just like to know what you have determined is is best for fair sailing.
Thanks for any info or advise you can give me.
dave

Post by dave »

Allan, we use the GYA-PHRF ratings and rules and going by those guidelines here are the answers:
1 Yes
2 No [see the attached rules].
3 The boat was originally designed TO BE sailed down wind with the board somewhere besides all the way down. That's why it's self righting even with the board all the way up and also why clubs/areas that still insist on beating this dead horse and having separate ratings for the two methods are behind the curve, no offense intended of course!

http://java46.homestead.com/GYA_PHRF_By ... __2008.pdf
dave

Post by dave »

To save you some reading time I should have included the location of the applicable paragraph.

V. A.
LarryE-old

PHRF

Post by LarryE-old »

We had a big stink in our PHRF area, last year. Not involving the 7.9, but other boats.