Mast step repair

Please see the post RE new 7.9 masts

Moderators: Tim Bosma, Tom Elsen

Tom Cassidy 352

Mast step repair

Post by Tom Cassidy 352 »

Like a number of you, I've discovered a problem with my mast step and the surrounding deck. There has been some talk that a pro should tackle the repair because of the design of the step. Does anyone know if there is a scematic drawing of the cross section of the step showing the amount of taper so that I could give it to local pros? Does Tiara have it? Thanks in advance for any and all help. Tom Cassidy Gargle Blaster 352
dave

Re: Mast step repair

Post by dave »

Tom, I am a pro and I don't really think it's that big of a deal. It IS a real pain in the a$$ but as far as getting things back the way they were, the two fairly critical aspects are to get the height correct where the mast plate sits and to make sure that said area is level side to side. For and aft isn't that critical because the mast base rocks fore and aft. You can build a simple template from another 7.9 to gauge the height/location/shape by making a frame that sits on the deck, inside the toe rails, "X" distance aft from the bow on both side. Run another beam across from these two uprights to indicate mast step level. You can then make a template of the shape if want to be that ticky, and mount it on the cross member with screws when needed.

THE most important and time consuming part of the job is getting everything dry. The moisture on my boat went WAY back on either side of the main hatch runners!!!! :shock: :shock: :shock:
Tom Cassidy 352

Dave,
Thanks for all the help. I'm thinking that I"ll remove any water soaked core at the mast step and deck and replace it with a combo of coosa board and epoxy/glass layup. Tom Cassidy
dave

Post by dave »